Summer Sewing Swap

Hij staat al een tijdje hiernaast: de button van de Summer Sewing Swap. Het idee is simpel: je kunt je opgeven, wordt gelinkt aan een andere blogger en dan sturen jullie elkaar kadootjes t.w.v. een bepaald bedrag. Deze dame organiseerde het, en omdat het me leuk leek om eens aan zoiets mee te doen, meldde ik me aan.

It has already been on the right side of my blog for  a while: the Summer Sewing Swap button. The idea is simple: you can enter, you get linked to another blogger and then you send each other presents. This lady did the organisation, it seemed fun to me so I entered.

Ik werd gelinkt aan Tine, uit Duitsland. We mailden wat heen en weer, zij verstuurde een pakketje, Duitsland won van Nederland bij het EK, ik verstuurde toch een pakje.

I got linked to Tine, from Germany. We e-mailed for a while, se sent me a package, the German soccer team won from the dutch team at the European Championship, and I still sent her a package.

Zaterdag mocht ik het pakje in ontvangst nemen. Dat was zo leuk, het was echt een kadootje. En zo zag het er ook uit!

On saturday I received her package. It was so much fun, it really felt like I got a present. And it looked that way too!

En toen begon het leukste, het uitpakken.

And then the best part started, the unwrapping.

Een handgeschreven brief, wat is dat eigenlijk leuk om te krijgen in deze digitale tijd.

A handwritten letter, so much fun to receive in this digital era.

Ik kreeg van Tine 2 mooie stofjes, corduroy in een hele mooie kleur groen. En een dikke stretch katoen met een groene bladeren-achtige print. Bijpassend garen en ritsen, zodat ik meteen aan de slag kan. Een Burda met veel mooie patronen, een paar knopen en een zakje snoepjes (ik denk voor het emotie-eten als het weer eens niet wil lukken :p )

Tine  gave me 2 pretty pieces of fabric: a really pretty green corduroy and a beautiful stretch cotton with a green print. Matching thead and zippers, so I could start sewing right away.  An issue of Burda magazine with lots of pretty patterns, a few buttons and a bag of sweets (I think for the emotional eating when things don’t want to work :P)

 Patronen heb je nooit genoeg. Ik heb mijn favorieten omcirkeld.

There is no such thing as ‘enough patterns’. I’ve encircled my favourites.

Ik kan het iedereen aanraden om eens mee te doen aan zoiets, het is zo leuk om ‘zomaar’ iets uit te zoeken voor iemand die je alleen ‘kent’ van een paar plaatjes en een paar mails. En uiteraard is het ook leuk en verrassend om ‘zomaar’ iets te krijgen.

I really recommend participating in someting like this. It is so much fun to assemble a present for someone you only ‘know’ from some pictures and e-mails. And of course it is fun and surprising to receive a present ‘out of the blue’.

Tine, vielen dank for the beautiful items you sent me! And thanks to Kestrel of course for organising this swap.

(En voor degenen die benieuwd zijn hoe mijn pakketje eruit zag

For those who are curious about my package)

8 thoughts on “Summer Sewing Swap

  1. I’m so glad you like what you got. The pictures are great, I should really take a course on picture editing soon. Looking forward what you are going to sew from the fabrics.

  2. Pingback: Weet je wat ik graag zou willen zijn… | IngeMaakt

  3. Pingback: RuilRokje | IngeMaakt

  4. Pingback: Colette Iris shorts | IngeMaakt

  5. Pingback: Iris x Inge | IngeMaakt

I'd love to hear your thoughts!